Make 52 – Week 44 : Simon Meanwell-Ralph

Well, what can I say, this had to be one of the most exciting, fulfilling and successful weeks. Yesterday I stationed myself in the gallery at Walford Mill with a past colleague, Simon Meanwell-Ralph. Since leaving Walford Mill Simon has set up a successful  and captivating mini empire named Marvellous Millinery – seriously if you’re looking for some fabulous headwear, look no further.

Now I have to say, I’ve never really been a hat person, I do, I admit resort to a rather woolly bobble hat when it get’s really cold but apart from that I lean towards the toddler you can’t keep a hat on for the rest of the year. As far as fancy headwear goes, I’ve never needed any so I’ve never bothered to seek it out. However the week Simon returned to the Mill in his new status as once a month onsite maker, apart from the temporary distraction of the cookies he brought with him, we were all utterly swept away by his new ‘marvelous’ creations. The moment he places one on your head that goes perfectly with what you are wearing, you suddenly have the urge to gatecrash any and every Royal event – because not only would you fit in perfectly, you’d turn more heads than the Queen herself. They truly are wonderful and I fell over myself not only asking Simon if he would teach workshops at the Mill but also desperate for him to be a Make 52.

I was counting down the days until our booked Make, we’d chosen to work side by side in the gallery, on November 5th, each creating a hat inspired by Bonfire Night.

Earlier in the week I began to create my fireworks in aluminium with extremely disappointing results, however I wasn’t swayed, with the recent success of my aluminium flowers that followed on from The Monochronium Make, I had it in my head that the floral treats needed to be on headwear and so, for me, bonfires became irrelavant, instead it would be a shooting display of colourful aluminium flowers.

We set up yesterday morning and selected the colours we were to work in. Simon gave me an introduction to the materials I would be using and we got stuck in. I was eager to get going, I couldn’t wait to see how the flower would work on my facinator and it was inspirational being surrounded by Simon’s own work, in particular the Peacock headwear he’d brought along especially for me to wear.

The day was fantastic, some great interaction with the public, which is always a valuable addition to our gallery, many, many giggles and a few sweet treats. At the end of the day I couldn’t believe what I’d produced, I completely amazed myself with what I’d created, super chuffed, very happy… marvelous!

Simon created a red and yellow, bouncing firework facinator he named ‘Remember Remember’, it was great fun to wear and sparkled in the light just like a firework – the pom poms were a brilliant idea and really brought the work to life.

My facinator didn’t have the movement of Simon’s due to the thicker wire, but somehow this didn’t seem to matter, the static, upright nature of the flowers, really lifted the whole piece, giving great height to a small lady. I’d do the whole day again in a heartbeat, I loved my hat, this may have to be one Make that I keep for any and all occasions.

I had a wonderful Make this week and I’m glad it was near to the end, having great weeks at the tail end of such a huge project only serve to keep you going. There’s only 8 week’s left and I think I’ll miss it to be honest, although preparing for the exhibition looks like it’s going to be an all consuming affair.

Next week, something for somebody else, during the opening weekend of Durlston Castle on 18, 19, 20 November I will be selling my work for the charity Wateraid. So next week’s Make will see me waste nothing, I’ll be revamping, redesigning and renewing old stock ready to make as much money as possible for a worthy cause, come along, Marvel in the new and wonderful castle and start your Christmas shopping.

Leave a comment