Make 52 – Week 34 : Hazel Evans

My Attempt

Week 34!!! I’m in the ‘teens,’ only 18 left to go! I’m concerned about how fast this year is vanishing.

Anyway on to my Make. This week for one night only (well one hour) I embraced Hazel Evans (in the arty sense or course). Hazel has been the shop manager at Walford Mill Crafts for nearly two years, however as well as working flat out to constantly improve our gallery shop she is also a very successful visual artist, illustrator and artist in residence at the Lighthouse in Poole.

Hazel’s been very good for me, sometimes I can be a little closed minded to fine and visual arts as I’m so caught up in my own world of contemporary craft. She’s done a great job of opening my heart to new ideas and making me look at things differently and not be quite so cynical.

Originally part of the idea for Make 52 was to help me open my mind to things I’d always steered clear of in order to improve and vitalise my own creative practice – this week was an example of that and I really enjoyed it.

As artist in residence at the Lighthouse, Hazel does an array of different and exciting creative pursuits in the gallery at the arts centre. One of the most interesting to me is when she attends shows and performances and illustrates as a response to the sights, sounds and stories whilst they are happening in front of her. Keen to try this I asked her if I could have a go, but this time drawing on my metal. I suggested we both illustrated the same performance at the same time on aluminium so that both pieces could be exhibited during the Make 52 exhibition next year.

Now, Hazel is also the coordinator and this years illustrator for the Sting in the Tale Storytelling Festival (I know, and you thought I was a busy lady! She did 3 Pride in Bournemouth lions as well). As part of the week long event we decided to attend Beowulf together at the Upton Romano-British Farm, the story being told by Graham Rogers – a brilliant and cuddly ‘fuzzy bear’ of a storyteller, he’s fantastic with kids and really gets them mesmerised by the story.

We parked ourselves on a bench at the venue on Tuesday night, armed ourselves with metal and my fancy new Letraset pens and were ready to respond. Hazel started first and I had the look of a kid at school that can’t keep up with the lesson – I looked over her shoulder a few times to see what she was doing then bit the bullet and went for it. Once I started I couldn’t stop, it was fantastic, drawing from what I pictured in my mind as the story was being told, almost reverting back to childhood, with loads of freedom and imagination.

Hazel's Illustration

Hazel worked in Black and White and I went a bit crazy with colour, of course the end results were quite different. Hazel, who is super talented in this area, produced a stunning picture with loads of imagery and pattern. I, on the other hand, produce a bit of a mess – although I am pleased with the boat. Still it was my first attempt and let’s face it I did take up collage because of my limited drawing skills. The biggest point was I loved every minute of it and would happily do it all again – who care’s about the result, it’s more to do with the experience for me, and who know’s my drawing might improve with practice, that’s what I always say to the kids when I’m teaching.

So week 34 is in the bag and was quite lovely. Next week Jeff Koons! It’s our multicultural day on Bank Holiday Monday, this year we’re celebrating China and it’s the Chinese year of the rabbit!!

Leave a comment